Three-Time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Jimmie Johnson To Be Inducted Into Auto Club Speedway Walk Of Fame

Jimmie Johnson will be inducted into the Walk of Fame

San Bernardino County, Calif. (August 19, 2009) – Native Southern Californian Jimmie Johnson, driver of the No. 48 Lowe’s/Jimmie Johnson Foundation Chevrolet, will take his place alongside past Auto Club Speedway NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race winners when he is inducted into the ACS Walk of Fame on Saturday, October 10 at 9:30 a.m. during the inaugural Southern California Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup playoff weekend at Auto Club Speedway.

Located at Gate 12, on the east end of the Opportunity, California FanZone, the ACS Walk of Fame ceremony has become a must attend, fan favorite.  Race fans join Johnson as his footprint, signature and a bronze plaque are preserved in concrete during the enshrinement ceremony.

In addition to cementing his place in Auto Club Speedway history, Johnson will receive a gift to remember his Southern California win, a custom-made one-of-a-kind surfboard designed by Dennis Kemp of Ohana Kemp Surfboards in Orange County, California.

The up-close and personal setting of the Walk of Fame ceremony offers fans a once-in-a-lifetime experience to remember. Through a contest held exclusively for Auto Club Speedway Hard Card Members, a lucky season ticket holder will win the opportunity to meet and present the surfboard to Johnson.  

Johnson’s 2008 Pepsi 500 at Auto Club Speedway win not only led him to his third consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship (’06, ’07 & ’08), an honor he shares with Cale Yarborough (’76, ‘77 & ’78), but Johnson also became the first Cup driver to win the pole and the Pepsi 500 race; is one of three drivers to win three Sprint Cup Series races, tying teammate Jeff Gordon and Matt Kenseth and the second to win back-to-back races joining Kenseth, all at Auto Club Speedway.

Johnson (’02, ’07 & ’08) joins Jeff Gordon (’97, ’99 & 04), Mark Martin (’98), Jeremy Mayfield (’00), Rusty Wallace (’01), Kurt Busch (’03), Elliott Sadler (’04), Kyle Busch (’05), Greg Biffle (’05), Matt Kenseth (’06, ’07 & ‘08), Kasey Kahne (’06) and Carl Edwards (’09) as NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers to be enshrined at the Speedway’s Walk of Fame.

For more information on the Auto Club Speedway Walk of Fame induction ceremony with Jimmie Johnson or how to become an ACS Hard Card member, please visit or call 800-944-RACE (7223).


This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

©2018 Auto Club Speedway


ISC Track Sites