So Who Really Has a Chance to Win The Pepsi MAX 400?

If You Believe the Stats, the Race is Wide Open


SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY, Calif. (Oct. 7, 2010) – Based on NASCAR’s statistical advance of the Pepsi MAX 400, a majority of the Chase field has done pretty well at Auto Club Speedway over the years.  That begs the question:  Who really has a shot at taking Sunday’s Pepsi MAX 400 checkered flag?

If you’re the betting type, SoCal’s own Jimmie Johnson who has won the last three Oct. events might be a pretty safe bet.  Johnson also had 10 Top 5s and 11 Top 10s and an average finish of 5.5 over 15 races at ACS.

But what about fellow Southern Californian Jeff Gordon’s three wins, 10 Top 5s and 10 Top 10s? Plus it’s Pepsi MAX 400 weekend and Gordon has enjoyed a long relationship with PepsiCo. 

Or Matt Kenseth’s three wins, seven Top 5s and 12 Top 10s?

And although Bakersfield Chase contender Kevin Harvick has never won here, if it weren’t for what he called a “strategically placed horseshoe” in Johnson’s favor, he, not Johnson would have won February’s race.

And the others?
• Denny Hamlin has never won here, yet won the pole for the 2009 race
• Jeff Burton posts a “0” in the win column, but has posted six Top 5s and seven Top 10s
• Kyle Bush has a 102.4 Driver Rating at ACS, third best behind Johnson and Kenseth
• Carl Edwards has a 7.2 average finish at Sothern California’s premier motorsports facility
• Kurt Busch has won the pole three times at ACS
• Tony Stewart has 10 Top 10s
• Greg Biffle has a driver rating of 99.0 (seventh best in the field)
• Even Clint Bowyer, who has all but dismissed himself from the Chase, has an average finish of 12.0 and five Top 10s in nine races

To summarize:  “It’s anyone’s race,”  “The field is wide open,” “We’ve all got a chance.”

To see who will win the Pepsi MAX 400 call 800-944-RACE (7223), or visit



This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

©2018 Auto Club Speedway


ISC Track Sites