Pets Pick INDYCAR Series Champion


The bearded dragon picked Ryan Briscoe
The horse picked Ryan Briscoe
The dog picked Scott Dixon

Celebrating “National Bring Your Pet to Work Day”, three Auto Club Speedway employee pets picked the 2012 IndyCar Series Champion as well as winners for each remaining Series’ race.


SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY, Calif. (June 21, 2012) – As you can imagine, being the guest of honor at “National Bring Your Pet to Work Day” might prove a little boring for said invited guests.  Horses can’t type, a bearded dragons’ phone etiquette leaves much to be desired and dogs can’t change toner in a printer.

So when Auto Club Speedway celebrated “National Bring Your Pet to Work Day” (it’s on June 24th, but we celebrated early because the dog had a prior engagement) some employees gave their pets an assignment they might actually be able to excel at – picking the winners for the remaining races on the IZOD IndyCar 2012 Schedule and the overall 2012 Series Champion.  (Others actually did try to let their pets try and change the toner.  Take our word for it – not a pleasant sight).

If “Paul” the so-called psychic octopus can predict World Cup soccer winners, and Punxsutawney Phil can predict the weather, surely Mushu the bearded dragon, Annie the

Percheron Mare and Raisin the miniature black schnauzer could claim the same legendary fate. “Octopus-schmocktopus …,” Annie seemed to indicate.  “Puxa who?” chimed in Mushu.  “Let’s do this …” a confident Raisin barked.

So, using scientific equations, methodical calibrations, logistical techniques and controlled applications – oh and a few apples, dog treats and wax worms – the soon-to-be-celebrated-and-world-renowned trio set the odds Vegas-style and chose winners for the remaining 2012 INDYCAR Series races and the Series Champions. 

For Annie, apples were placed in front pictures of the Series’ top drivers. The same controlled sequence using dog treats were used for Raisin while Mushu chowed down on wax worms, placed in cups with drivers names.  Setting the odds just like in Vegas, which ever nibble attracted the animal, that driver was declared the animals’ darling to win the event or the title.

Drum roll here please … And the results were:

2012 IndyCar Series Champion



Ryan Briscoe


Ryan Briscoe


Scott Dixon

2012 Remaining IndyCar Series Schedule




Race Winner


Iowa Speedway

June 23

Will Power


Streets of Toronto

July 8

Scott Dixon


Streets of Edmonton

July 22

Justin Wilson



Aug. 5

Scott Dixon



Aug. 26

Helio Castroneves


Streets of Baltimore

Sept. 2

Dario Franchitti

Annie, Mushu, Raisin

Auto Club Speedway

Sept. 15

Annie: Graham Rahal Raisin: Oriol Servia Mushu: Sebastien Bourdais



Related Topics

IZOD Indy Car Series


This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

©2018 Auto Club Speedway


ISC Track Sites